House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

 

Willing to pay up to $100pd for the right candidate. All monetary options will be considered and are negotiable.

Dates
  • 27 Jul 2024 - 2 Aug 2024
  • 6 nights
What we need
  • Dogs (3), Cats (2)
  • No
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

Central - Pulaski

Niki

**Please note: At this time we’re unable to consider male candidates due to having a male-reactive dog.

I’m Niki; my husband is David. I currently work from home & he works in the field. I’m an eccentric & overprotective paw-rent to 3 dogs & 2 cats. I am an overzealous and very compassionate animal lover; or as my husband says, I have a bleeding-heart for sentient beings. In my spare time I maintain a busy household, with plenty of projects going on. I try to do as many pet transports in my spare time as a volunteer for a multitude of animal-saving organizations. My husband & I are a team of independent contractors & our jobs can be mentally-tasking. Besides our love for life & animals, we love the medicine of nature & adventures. We love traveling any chance we can & having a sitter ensures we’re able to disconnect from work life for quality R&R. 

Our home sits on 1.28 acres, on the outskirts of a small town. It’s in a country setting; among farmers, ranchers & homesteaders. One of its best attributes is the distance between neighbors; allowing you privacy, peace & quiet. The yard is full of beautiful, lush, soft grass, & a variety of plants & trees (at least in the summer). The sunsets are serene, which can be viewed outside or from a picture window. The location is close to the Ozark Mountains/Lake of the Ozarks. Many people enjoy exploring the outdoors nearby for activities such as fishing, rockhounding & discovering artifacts, hiking trails & caves of natural beauty, & the lake beaches, boating & swimming (when weather permits). There’s also a lot of history nearby including Route 66 and the Trail of Tears.

There is a spare guest bedroom with closet space that would be provided to the sitter, as well as a full bath across the hallway. There are no expectations to allow my dogs or cats to share your slumber, but you are more than welcome to allow it. I only ask the cats & dogs to be kept out of the room unless you’re present. The kitchen is equipped with a gas range, microwave, coffee brewer, waffle iron, Ninja juicer, Instapot, electric vegetable chopper, & bottom-freezer fridge. Multiple security systems are monitored 24/7 including indoor/outdoor cameras for surveillance, break-ins, smoke & carbon monoxide. The living room is where you can enjoy any of our streaming subscriptions on a projector & the basement contains our washer & dryer. We also have a desktop computer available for use with a guest account.

Our dogs & cats are very much shadows. They are loyal & most of all are always interested in what you’re doing. The cats are indoor-only, & the dogs must be leash-walked or supervised in their fenced-in area. (No dog parks or recreational trails.)

CiCi & Kylo (dogs), as well as Haybale & Violet (cats), are the 4 lowest maintenances. 

CiCi is a 12-year-old Chihuahua mix & is a diva, as expected with the breed.

Kylo is an 8-year-old Pointer/Plott Hound mix. He is the youngest & largest pup. He’s full of love & energy & wants to be the center of attention. 

Haybale is a 7-year-old DSH/Tabby cat. He is a lover not a fighter; sometimes. He is semi-feral so sometimes his “wild side” will come out.

Violet is a 7-year-old DMH/Gray Tuxedo cat. She on the other hand is the sweetest of the bunch & a FOODIE. She loves to be cradled & head-butts way too hard.

Cowboy is a 13-year-old Chihuahua mix. Cowboy is much more apprehensive when it comes to humans. He enjoys a good scratch on his back, chest & ears because his legs can’t do it for him like they used to. He requires the most patience & understanding. Cowboy can be considered high-maintenance as he does have dementia with sundowners & wears a belly band for urinary incontinence.

One of the most important aspects of a sitter is their energy. My animals are my world & I want someone to have the ability to exude to them that, without their mum, they’re seen, understood, safe, & will be cared for. Someone who accepts my dogs & cats for who they are & how they were raised. They’re not well socialized because I’m a private person who only entertains guests occasionally & very few of them. That doesn’t mean that my dogs & cats don’t understand when I command them to give me space. I may have to say it a couple of times, but they are used to someone like me who isn’t bothered by them sitting in my face while I eat or typical behaviors most households probably don’t allow. That doesn’t mean they can’t learn or respect your boundaries. I would resonate most with someone who respects & understands the steps I take to protect my family & secure my home; someone who acknowledges my rules & guidelines to satisfy the needs of my dogs & cats.

If any of this sounds difficult or complicated, it’s not. It’s as easy as following rules. It’s not in my nature to accept anything less than the best for my pets.

The ideal candidate is attentive, passionate, patient, and understanding; follows directions & has cat & senior experience. I prefer someone who has flexibility and is willing to arrive the day before and stay a day after my leave/return to ensure travel time is adequate.

House & Location
  • House
  • Wifi, Netflix, Air conditioner, Heater
  • Login to View
  • Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains (Shopping, Nature, Quiet, Family, Conservative, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Beach, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
 
Save Money

No commissions

We don't take commissions, so your money stays yours. Both free and paid sitter find our service transparent & easy.

Feefo badge