House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

JOIN NOW to contact


Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

  • 8 Dec 2024* - 1 Mar 2025* (*Approx)
  • 2 months 3 weeks
What we need
  • Dogs (3), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (10+)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No

We need a house sitter

North - Stephenson


The 1300 sq ft house is located on a rural one acre lot with woods and a creek on one side and cornfields on the other. It is a very quiet property with lots of stars on a clear night. A very cozy "cabin" to spend the winter months. The home is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath. The primary bedroom has an attached bathroom. We cook most meals at home, so the kitchen is well stocked with most any appliance you'd need. New washer and dryer is located right off the kitchen. The heat works great and keeps things cozy.

The house is only about 15 minutes from the town of Freeport, pop. about 25,000. Freeport has a Walmart, Menards, Aldi, Starbucks, Anytime Fitness, YMCA, Highland Community College, Goodwill, a very nice library, a couple good Mexican restaurants, a couple good pizza places, sushi, and some other stores and chain restaurants. We are one hour east of the Mississippi River, one hour west of Rockford, IL and two hours west of Chicago. Surrounded by a lot of natural beauty.

The yard is fenced and the dogs have 24/7 access to a dog door. There are occasionally stray cats that wander by, and you will see lots of wildlife. Raccoons, foxes, and deer at least. There is a spot to take the dogs to run off leash within walking distance of the house. We try to do this at least about 3 times a week with them. They are all very active breeds. In addition to walks/off leash play time, nighttime and morning cuddles, the dogs need to be fed and watered once or twice per day.

The dogs are:
One 75 lb 10 year old male German Short Hair Pointer and Lab Mix
One 55 lb 5 year old female Australian Cattle Dog (Blue Heeler)
One 35 lb 3 year old male Australian Shepard

The 10 ducks about 50 chickens will need to be kept fed and watered too. Some egg collecting and light maintenance of feed and water systems.

Garden care in the winter will be very minimal, keeping some indoor plants alive is about it.

House & Location
Save Money

No commissions

We don't take commissions, so your money stays yours. Both free and paid sitter find our service transparent & easy.

Feefo badge