Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Fish, Bird(s), Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Federated States of Micronesia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Marshall Islands, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Palau, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

SGT_MAC

53, Retired/Student

Introduction

Hello, I spent 23 years in the US Army and lived many places across the USA, Europe and Asia. After retiring in 2009 I moved to Florida and completed several degrees along with my commercial, multi-engine and instrument flight ratings. I am currently working on a Master's degree in aviation.

Why I want to house-sit

After moving every 2-5 years for most of my adult life I grew to appreciate experiencing new people & places. For me, this is as important as formal education for providing perspective & context to life. I plan to do some writing/blogging and try to learn something new each place I visit and explore.

What I bring to the assignment / relevant experience

My military and other experiences over the years have been quite diverse and I am comfortable in just about any situation. I have lived in conditions ranging from war zones to beach-side residences. I can deal easily with most common problems but also know when/who to call for professional help. My friends and family include: house builders, electricians, farmers/gardeners, medical professionals...and much more. I am a life-long critter lover and have cared for many types of small, domestic animals. My experience with larger farm animals is more limited but I am a quick study. Very computer/electronics savvy and have driven everything from Army Tanks to motorcycles and small aircraft, and, originally being from New Hampshire, I can handle shovels and snow-blowers too. 2014 VW diesel wagon, still under warranty, for reliable transportation (with pet friendly neoprene seat-covers!)

Reviews (4)
No rating JC was a hit with my boys and I couldn't be more pleased to have him coming back in a few months. JC is personable, knowledgeable and most important -- able to make all three of my furry kids feel safe and content. He kept me updated on how things were going along with photos that couldn't help but bring me comfort. So happy to have been able to have him in my home while I enjoyed vacation. Nothing like peace of mind.
DEB ( New Hampshire, Jan 2017 - 1 week 2 days)
No rating JC arrived promptly, complete with some cat food that I requested he pick up at Trader Joe's. He made quick friends with my cats Katerina and Sheba, fixed some broken door knobs in the house, and introduced my cats to YouTube tv for cats. He even picked me up from the airport when I got home. Ideal person for this occupation, cannot say enough good about him.
SUEELLEN ( Maryland, Nov 2016 - 2 weeks 6 days)
No rating JC stayed in my house with little Lucky the cat for two weeks while I traveled to Italy. He was a rock. As soon as he arrived, I knew I could count on him. He was inquisitive about the house and its systems, and Lucky. He offered suggestions when I seemed to need them and took care of several tasks such as putting air in my tires and changing out a battery in the smoke alarm. He was willing to transport us to the bus when we left, and pick us up when we got home. And Lucky liked him. He ... MORE
BARBARA ( Maine, Oct 2016 - 2 weeks 1 day)
No rating JC house/pet- sat for me for a week recently. I was very pleased in every way with the way things worked out. He is a nice person who loves animals, and he inspires confidence due to his manner as well as his extensive experiences. He went beyond the call of duty in his care for my 2 dogs, and left the house in good shape. I feel lucky that he was available and would highly recommend JC without reservation. I hope he will come house-sit here again someday.
GRACIA ( Arizona, Jul 2016 - 1 week)
 
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge