House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

 
Dates
  • 11 Nov 2024 - 22 May 2025
  • 6 months
What we need
  • Cats (3), Fish (10+), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (10+)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No
  • Outside only

We need a house sitter

Finger Lakes - Livingston

Doug And Julia

A unique sit for unique sitters! Our home is in the Fingerlakes area of Upstate New York. We live near one of the smaller lakes, Honeoye. The house sits on a large, mostly wooded property with a couple of large ponds. Abundant wildlife is present and it is a beautiful, peaceful and quiet rural environment. There are trails throughout the woods for hiking and skiing. This is a more rustic, not a formal or fancy sitting experience. There is a well, 2 wood stoves, propane furnace, electric, washer/dryer, TV/DVD, and internet. Utilities are provided. The local communities have a lot to offer in the way of friendly people, arts and crafts, outdoor recreation, entertainment, social groups for various interests, shopping, education, wineries, breweries, and good medical facilities, etc. Our town of Honeoye has an excellent bakery, a good restaurant and a diner-style restaurant, a public library which hosts some interests group meetings. . Nearby Hemlock has a community center with many events; you can visit their website. There are many nearby groups and events that advertise on Meetup in the local free magazines you can pick up at the Honeoye post office and a liquor store, There is a Wegman's grocery store in Canandaigua which offers many varieties of produce, meat, and caters to all culinary palattes.. Sitters need to be 'winter people', as winters here can be long and harsh. A UTV with snow plow on front 4WD will be provided to use. E.g.: To plow the driveway, deliver heavier items In the back, etc. We want this to be a
good fit for both owners and sitters and for the sitter to have a positive experience, We will send more details to those interested to better determine if this is the right sit for them, We are open to hearing of any issues that may arise during the sit. We have 1 cats, 2 dozen or so chickens, and 2 large saltwater aquariums that need care as well as upkeep of the house, 'feeding'/cleaning the wood stove(s), and plowing out when needed with our UTV with mini-plow attached, which we will teach you how to drive;
it isn't difficult. Sitters need to be strong, healthy, and able to lift 50lbs bags of chicken feed to do the chores, some of which can be strenuous during winter weather. If this sounds like a sit that might be right for you, please contact us for more particulars.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Cable TV, Garage, BBQ, Heater
  • Login to View
  • City, Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains, Snow, Outback (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet, Family, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Fishing/Boating
 
Save Money

No commissions

We don't take commissions, so your money stays yours. Both free and paid sitter find our service transparent & easy.

Feefo badge