House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

JOIN NOW to contact


Join America's favorite Pet & House sitting site

  • House sitting jobs throughout America
  • House sit for free or get paid for your services
  • Trusted for pet and house sitting since 2007

Join now to make contact

  • 14 Nov 2023 - 24 Nov 2023
  • 1 week 3 days
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (1), Rabbits/Guinea Pigs (1), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (8)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

The Islands - Island


We are a family of 5, plus animals, living on a lovely island in Puget Sound. They call Whidbey "The gateway to the San Juan's" or often for Seattleites: "the shortest distance to far away". Whidbey is ripe with gorgeous hikes, epic views, deep forest trails, historic sites and great eateries. The many beaches are serene and often void of other humans in the winter. People are kind and open here, willing to help strangers and locals alike.
Our family is all back east so when we fly to them we try to make it count! It's hard for us to leave our beloved 11 year old lab mix Denver as he is quite attached to mom and has anxiety when not by her side. And we have a 1.5 year old Newfie mix Panda who is a huge bundle of cuddles and clumsiness. Our cat Max is outside during the day but, because we have coyotes, and he likes snuggles, we bring him in at night. Our 7 hens are pretty easy and appreciate humans to check in on them and maybe pet their backs or hold them. We do close them up tight at night in their coop, then let them out when we wake. Our bunny Simon is easy, snuggly, litter-trained and in the basement in his custom enclosure.

Otherwise the large garden will be mostly sleeping this winter but has a sweet table and chairs to relax and enjoy the view of the Olympics or dine outside with the garden lights on! We have a fire pit as well for dry nights. And our home is a green home, built with eco/sustainable/non-toxic materials. Large windows and skylights afford it a lot of light, even in the dark months. A wood stove provides free heat in addition to radiant floor heat. There is a HRV for circulating warm air or reducing toxins/smoke in the house. We have a large daylight basement that is currently our wood shop and art studio. (A large garage is our next big endeavor). Our 3000 sq. ft. home is easy to care for and on a plateau surrounded by Douglas Firs, Western Cedars and Noble Firs. There is dense forest with trails and a treehouse on the north side, a forested ravine on both the east and west sides, and a clear view of the Olympics on the south side overlooking the tops of trees below. Below those trees is Glendale creek, once a run for salmon, and hopefully restored soon. Trails will take you down to the creek and it's quite a good workout coming back up! The dogs will gladly come too! They love their free-range life and so do the kids! And us adults! The cat will often follow on walks too. We have quite a serene spot here with no neighbors in sight. There are some friendly ones nearby though, just follow the road that leads to sounds of geese, ducks, and goats.

We are hoping to find someone who will spend lots of time at home and cuddle our pets. 4wd is somewhat necessary in the winter months as there is a natural spring on our road that can freeze over and it becomes quite slick.

PLEASE email me with any questions.
And thanks for your interest!

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, BBQ, Heater, Dishwasher
  • No
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Snow, Island (Shopping, Sport, Nightlife, Nature, Quiet, Family, Historical)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself & expand your horizons.

Feefo badge