Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 1 Jan 2022 - 9 Apr 2022
  • 3 months 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (1)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

H.F.

. Seeking a caring person(s) for my home on the coast of Maine. from January 1,2022 to April 09,2022
(dates to be worked out) I am an artist and musician and have been traveling to Puerto Rico winters for the past decade.
In Maine,I live in a small community on 5 private acres in a helpful neighborhood on the ocean. It will be wintertime so there is not much outside maintenance. NO one can predict what winter weather brings (all beyond my control).
We usually have a mix of sunny days in the 40s, rain, below zer9 temperatures and snow, although 2021 winter was extremely mild with an early spring. One must be not mind dealing with winter. My house is cozy with four zone radiant heat and a propane fireplace, and a heat pump. I have a generator that automatically kicks in if power should go out.
Everything is on one level: Large cooks kitchen with AGA cooker, dining area, Living room, two bedrooms, full bath and 1/2, washer and dryer.
Duties include walking and caring for Brisa, a 12 year old, wire haired pointing griffon. She is extremely well behaved and a registered service dog. She's a companion dog so cannot be left alone for long periods of time. (two hours max. how she was trained). needs feeding twice a day. taking to vet if necessary, and lots of hugs. she does not shake, roll over, or play tug, but she is eager to please, responds to her commands and loves her walks. All housesitter have fallen in love with her. Household duties include getting the mail and remaining in contact with me about correspondence.Taking trash to the dump, and being mindful about our town recycling policies.
watering a few household plants , maintaining a clean household and shoveling snow from the short walkway. I have someone who plows driveway.
I am looking for someone who does not mind winter and snow, is active and likes to go for brief walks even if it is 10 below outside.
I do not have wifi, I have a hotspot from Att and my mobile phone which I take with me. If you do work from your computer, you will need to buy your monthly hotspot service. (Hotspot devices are available on line for 60.00 and up and service ranges from 25 to 75.00 a month for unlimited. (A good device to have regardless if you choose my house)
Service is good. I do zoom and FaceTime and a little streaming. there are free internet cafes very close by that are reliable as well as our town hall nearby.
My house sitters have been outstanding. they have returned for a two week visit. Another came back for three seasons. They could provide you with a character reference of me. I am located 30 minutes from Acadia National Park. It is a very scenic area.hiking etc. the neighbors are friendly and you can depend on them if you ever need help or area information.
I am a board member to a local hospice agency. There is plenty of opportunities for remaining engaged in the neighborhood or to remain inactive . We have a wonderful library in town. I would like someone to join me a few days prior to my departure for orientation. My departure and return dates are somewhat flexible.
If you require a few days after my return to remain on, arrangements can be made to user my apartment over the garage.
.lets see if we are a fit.

House & Location
  • House
  • Cable TV, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher, Space for RV/Motorhome
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest, Mountains, Snow (Shopping, Nightlife, Nature, Quiet, Conservative, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
 
Save Money

No commissions

We don't take commissions, so your money stays yours. Both free and paid sitter find our service transparent & easy.

Feefo badge