Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 

We are looking for someone who is working on a trade basis. We are offering the free use of our home in exchange for a sitter. We are not looking for sitters who charge for their service at this time. Thank you.

Dates
  • 8 Aug 2021 - 12 Sep 2021
  • 1 month 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Cats (1)
  • No
Sit Features
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

Piedmont - Mecklenburg

Mallory

Nonsmokers only please!

We would need someone to arrive a day or so before we leave so we can show you the place and make sure you're comfortable with everything. Of course, if it is convenient for you to stay on an extra night with us after we return, you're welcome to stay in the guest room which has the double mattress shown in the photos.

Our home is relatively new. It was built in 2015. It is a two-story, 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom house. We have all the basic modern amenities, Wi-Fi, central air and heat, washer/dryer, dishwasher. We live on a quiet street in North Charlotte, just about 8 miles from the center of "Uptown" or downtown to those of you not from here. Our area is urban and has all the amenities nearby that you could hope for, groceries, shopping, movie theaters, restaurants, gyms, etc. Although the bus does stop nearby, a car would really be ideal for the sitters to have. The nearest light rail station to us is about 5 miles away, but driving in Charlotte is just as convenient. The airport is 12 miles away. Even though this is the city, our house backs up to a forest. There are so many trees in Charlotte. There are tons of greenways and trails near us. We live about 30 minutes from the Historic Latta Plantation and the US National Whitewater Center. Uptown Charlotte and NODA have lots of nightlife and museums. Carowinds is about 20 miles south of us, on the border of South Carolina. There are more intense hikes like Crowder's Mountain and King's Mountain about an hour away. We aren't far from major shopping malls and outlet centers. There's lots to do here and we are happy to offer recommendations.

We have one dog, Alfalfa. He is an 11-year-old, Catahoula/ Australian Cattle Dog, about 60lbs. He does have diabetes and needs twice daily insulin shots. We would prefer someone with experience with this or at least comfortable enough to learn. It is very easy and he doesn't mind his shots at all. He's been getting them for about a year now. He is super friendly and loves everyone he meets. He is also a very relaxed dog. Sometimes you may not even notice he's home. Alfalfa is not allowed on the furniture. He sleeps on his bed. Other than the insulin, he basically just needs water in his bowl, feeding twice a day only right before insulin times, and let him out in the yard to do his business a few times a day. He has his own fenced off area for that. One - two short walks per day in our neighborhood or we can tell you where the greenway is, if you're interested in a change of scenery. He really can only walk for about 20-30 minutes at a time and he is slow. But he loves his walks and it is important that he gets them around the same time each day, same as the food and insulin. Diabetes is really about consistency. We also have a cat, Keeska, who is almost 3 years old. She is also low maintenance. She is indoor only, so make sure she stays inside. She loves to try to play with Alfalfa and sleep on laps. She also just needs feeding twice a day and some attention. The litter box needs to be scooped out as needed.

Our small front lawn may need to be mowed once with our easy electric mower, but possibly not at all. There's no watering needed and no plants to care for and I will put our mail delivery on hold. There's really nothing that needs to be done with the house. So, really we just need someone to live in our home, keep Alfalfa and Keeska company, and enjoy Charlotte.

We need someone who can administer insulin shots twice a day at the same time each day for Alfalfa. We have been doing 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM, but this can be adjusted slightly to fit your schedule if you let us know in advance. The two short walks are usually done in the morning slightly after the first shot and in the evening a couple hours before the second shot.

We have Wi-Fi and a TV, but don't subscribe to an television services. We have a Fire Stick if you have an account to log into. We ask that you don't wear shoes in our house, but we have plenty of slippers for your use. We have a driveway for car parking and there is plenty of free parking on the street as well.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher, Street parking
  • City, Suburban, Bush/Forest (Shopping, Sport, Nightlife, Nature, Quiet, Historical)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself & expand your horizons.

Feefo badge