Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee

Reliable, Friendly Caretaker +Travel Lover

36, Education Non-Profit

I'm a 35-year-old professional with a full-time non-profit job that allows short-term location flexibility. I love traveling both internationally and in the states - exploring, learning and adventure are what give me energy. I am reliable, detail-oriented, tidy and love animals. As far as hobbies, I love hiking and camping, try to practice yoga regularly, love an organizational project, and love getting creative through modern quilting.

I've worked for over 10 years for an education non-profit in a mission-aligned role, and I've had the privilege to travel extensively during that time. For several years, my role was fully location independent, and I took a year-long road trip around the United States, staying with friends and family for a week to a month at a time. I also took the opportunity to visit national parks, camp and hike along the way - and realized how incredibly vast our country is, and how much more there is to see and explore. From there, I took several months off for a backpacking trip in Europe, Israel and Morocco, including 40 days hiking the Camino de Santiago across northern Spain. The Camino was a transformational experience, and I returned home re-energized and ready to settle into a new home for a while.

I've been living in Memphis now for 3 years, and am starting to feel the wanderlust bug again. I've house-sat for friends and family, with and without pets, frequently in the past, though I'm new to formal house-sitting. I'm excited to explore this as a way to continue to travel in the U.S. while continuing in a current job that I love!

All of that, and I still haven't said a thing about pets! I grew up in the country, surrounded by animals, including several dogs, a rabbit, a lamb I raised as part of a 4-H club, and (my favorite) a horse I owned and showed throughout high school. Since then, I've lived with a variety of roommates' cats and dogs, and owned a rescue pit-mix dog of my own. As a single woman who travels frequently, I'm currently pet-less, but miss that furry energy and love!

I'm currently available for shorter-term sits (<2 weeks) most of the year, with more flexibility in July/August. As I get started on this platform, I'm including a few references from AirBnB, from my U.S. and backpacking trips, and I'm glad to share additional references with contact info as well. Please contact me for details.

- Mackenzie was a great guest- she got along well with our nervous dog Mac and was curious about the neighborhood. She left the place clean and communicated well. **Minneapolis, MN

-We enjoyed hosting Mackenzie and highly recommend her to you. She left our place sparkling clean, was easy to communicate with about her stay, and enjoyed and appreciated our space. We wish her well, and would love to have her back! **Clinton, WA

- I enjoyed having Mackenzie to stay. We had some good chats. She is an independent and considerate guest and would be most welcome to stay anytime. **Cambridge, England

Reviews (1)
No rating Mackenzie was great! Took wonderful care of our two dogs, and left our house spotless! She is a great communicator as well. Would definitely recommend Mackenzie.
BETHANY ( Tennessee, Feb 2020)
 
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge