House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 1 - 2 months
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Arizona: Tuscon & Southern, California: Gold Country & High Sierra, San Fransico Bay Area, Iowa: Northeast, Maine, Massachusetts: Berkshires, Connecticut River Valley, Michigan: Northeast (Presque Isle), Northwest (Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Manistee), Upper Peninsula (Houghton, Keweenaw, Marquette), New Hampshire, New York: Adirondacks (Hamilton, Warren), Capital/Saratoga, Catskills (Greene, Ulster), Hudson Valley (Columbia, Dutchess), North Carolina, Oregon: Oregon Coast, Portland, Pennsylvania: South Central (Lancaster), Southeast (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lehigh, Montgomery, Philadelphia), South Carolina: Historic Charleston, Low Country & Resort Islands, Myrtle Beach & The Grand Strand, Upcountry, Vermont: Central (Addison, Rutland, Windsor), Northern (Caledonia, Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle), Southern, Washington: Columbia River Plateau, North Cascades, Olympic & Kitsap, Rocky Mountain Gateway, The Coast, The Islands, Wisconsin: East Wisconsin Waters (Door), Great Northwest (Ashland, Bayfield, Washburn), Hidden Valley (Crawford, Vernon), Northwoods (Forest, Iron, Oneida, Vilas), River Country (Waupaca), Western (Chippewa, Trempealeau)

Quiet & Conscientious

74, Writer & Community Organizer

I'm a semi-retired writer and community organizer looking for opportunities to spend time away in quiet places where I can write, read and reflect. I would enjoy taking care of your home, as well as pets.

I have spent much of my life working for non-profit organizations in various capacities, as well as working as a newspaper editor/reporter and freelance journalist. I am also a prize-winning poet.

I enjoy cultural activities including music, movies and theater. I also like outdoor recreation such as hiking, biking, canoeing, camping and gardening.

I am a neat and conscientious person and promise to take good care of your house and pets while you are away.

Reviews (5)
Tom took great care of my house - it was tidy when I got home and Frankie was a happy cat!
 
NATALIE ( Wisconsin, Jul 2024 - 4 nights)
Tom was nice to spend a bit of time with as a guest and as a house/pet sitter. Our home was clean up on arrival and our cat and hens were happy.
 
ANGELA (Morganton North Carolina, Aug 2023 - 2 nights)
We had Tom stay for a second sit and he was very amiable to some changes we had in our schedule. Again, it was was nice to spend a bit of time with him as a guest and as a house/pet sitter. Our home was clean up on arrival and our cat and hens were happy. He spent a bit of time with our dogs before we left on our trip with them. They were never in his care but they seemed to enjoy his presence.
 
ANGELA (Morganton North Carolina, Aug 2023 - 4 days)
Tom was housesitting for us during some historic flooding in southern Vermont. He handled everything calmly and capably. We returned home to a clean house, a happy dog, and healthy plants.
 
STEVE ( Vermont, Jun 2023 - Two Weeks)
No rating The dogs loved Tom. The seedlings thrived and the chickens all remained healthy laying more eggs than when we left them. We came home to an immaculate house. We very much enjoyed Tom's company on our crossover and we would welcome him back any time.
SANDI (Franklin North Carolina, Jan 2017 - 2 weeks 1 day)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden & the potted plants are thriving when you return home. A house sitter will do this for you.

Feefo badge