Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Cat(s), Fish, None
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United States

Non-smoking cat lover housesitter

50, Writer

INTRODUCTION:
Hello! I am an American female, dependable and reliable traveling caretaker, 50 y/o. I am a non-smoker, non-drinker, no pets, no kids. I keep your home or apartment safe, clean and tidy while you are away, on sabbatical, or working out of the country. I have more than 10 years of experience housesitting.

BRIEF BACKGROUND:
I have helped many families across the United States and in France caretaking and housesitting since 2006 and have built wonderful relationships especially with individuals and families who travel every year for work or leisure. I appreciate new cultures and travel and consider housesitting to be a mutually beneficial service. I have a list of references and you should see at least 4 endorsements in the left-hand column here on my profile.

MY SERVICES:
I check your mail and receive packages, care for plants, complete local errands and ensure your home is in running order while you are away so you don't have to worry about it. I care for a cat or two, too.

CATS!
As I said, I love the kitty kats! I typically am a one-cat (maybe two) housesitter. I do best when the cat is healthy and easy to manage. I am patient and understand some cats are recluse, keep to themselves or need warm-up time. I do like cuddly fun cats too. Just to be upfront, I am probably not the best person if there are medications or shots, over-maintenance, illness or end-of-life situations. At this time, I do not offer dog sitting.

HOUSESITTING SPECIALTY:
I specialize in longer-terms housesits, those that are 3+ weeks and longer. I can be available for shorter sits but because of my traveling lifestyle, I am better suited for longer periods like those 2-3 months and longer.

MY CAREER:
I am a freelance writer and a book editor. I enjoy writing, reading and traveling. Also, I do light hiking, biking, speak two languages, and ice skate in winter and cold locales.

MY TRAVELS & TRANSPORTATION:
I have lived in or visited England, Scotland, France, Iceland, Canada, Malta, Egypt, Morocco, and South Africa and have traveled around the United States including major stops in New York, Calfornia, Washington, Oregon and Alaska. I have driven across the USA from east coast to west coast twice (1991 and 2006). At this time, I have my own vehicle. I prefer public transportation and riding my bicycle so let me know if your town is bike-friendly.

MUST HAVES:
As a freelance writer, it's essential for me to have access to reliable strong Wifi throughout the home so please let me that you can offer uninterrupted Internet service during the housesit.

HOW TO GET IN TOUCH:
If we sound like a match, please get in touch and let me know where you're at in your planning. I like to email 1-2x, then set up a phone call. If we're ready to move forward, then an in-person visit if possible and go from there before confirming. I have a list of references to provide and expect homeowners to provide a few names as well for my own safety, protection and peace of mind.

Looking forward to connecting with you soon.
Thank you!

Reviews (7)
No rating Jennifer was a wonderful addition to our cat Tiger's family! She was a caring and considerate house, pet and garden sitter. She also left our home spotless and welcoming - what a lovely way to return from 3 weeks away. Jennifer did a wonderful job communicating with my daughter here in Portland and she kept in touch just the right amount while I was abroad. She is most welcome back to our home and she will be first on my list to contact when we need a house sitter again. I highly ... MORE
JILLEAN ( Oregon, Aug 2019)
No rating Our kitty was in great hands with Jennifer. Kitty got lots of attention and playtime, and we got daily updates which was very nice. Jennifer is personable and professional which made communication and planning a breeze. She was thoughtful and conscientious, and we appreciated that she asked if any questions arose about cat-care or the house. Jennifer even came for a meet & greet before we left to get familiar with things. We definitely recommend Jennifer if you are looking for a ... MORE
ANN (Seattle Washington, Sep 2019)
No rating Jennifer took great care of our home and kitty in March 2020. It was a strange time to be away, but being able to contact each other quickly made our trip better. She left our home spotless, and we would definitely have her stay again in the future! Thank you Jennifer!
JANET (El Cerrito California, Sep 2019)
No rating I couldn't express a stronger endorsement for our house/cat sitter, Jennifer. I've never felt more comfortable and confident about leaving my home and pet in the care of someone. I didn't worry at all! Jennifer came with excellent credentials and enthusiastic references. She regularly sent me updates and photos of our cat (who seemed quite content with the situation), as well as happy comments about the neighborhood and her explorations in the area. We came home to a neat, clean house and a ... MORE
SUE AND ED ( Washington, Sep 2018 - 5 weeks)
No rating Jennifer goes way beyond what anyone could expect of a house sitter. Now that you found her profile, your search for a sitter should be over: she's that good! Reach out to Jennifer first if she's available. Jennifer is such a nice, honest, sincere, organized, tidy, and trustworthy person. She took immaculate care of our home and gardens. An A+ communicator. And, she stayed at our house the night before we left, and we totally enjoyed her personality and her visit. She even got up at 4 AM when ... MORE
KEN & SYLVIA ( Oregon, Sep 2018 - 2 weeks)
No rating It was an absolute pleasure working with Jennifer! From the start, she was very professional and knowledgeable about housesitting. Communication was excellent throughout the sit. Jennifer took the time to get to know our home, and our routine with the cats. She even came to our home early to get to know us and the cats before we left town. Our house was in great condition when we returned from our trip, and the cats were happy and well-cared for! I would highly recommend Jennifer for your next ... MORE
ANDREW AND SUE ( Wisconsin, May 2018 - 2 weeks 2 days)
No rating Jennifer did a great job house and cat sitting for me while I was away for about two weeks. She was considerate and communicative about the apartment and my cat throughout the stay. I came home to a clean house and clean sheets, and most importantly, a happy cat. Highly recommended! Thanks, Jennifer!
RUBY ( Oregon, Mar 2018 - 2 weeks 5 days)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden & the potted plants are thriving when you return home. A house sitter will do this for you.

Feefo badge