Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Introvert Writer

33, Remote Health Coach, Writer

Hi there!

I've done 5 house-sits through this site (endorsements in my profile). I've also done numerous work-exchange trips throughout the US, and within those trips I've done some house-sitting and pet-sitting.

During my house-sits I've cared for dogs (anxious rescues, purebreds, elderly), cats (indoor, outdoor, special needs), laying hens, rabbits, and reptiles. Since starting house-sitting, I've cared for a total of 14 cats and 5 dogs.

In terms of work-exchange experience, I have helped with: gardening, fencing (wire, electric), harvesting crops, chimney sweeping, house-sitting, pet-sitting, farm animal care, spreading seed, cooking, construction, demolition, landscaping, and organizing.

I live fairly minimally, and I really value a quiet environment, cleanliness, and honesty.

I work remotely 40 hours a week (M-F) for a healthcare startup, so I'd be at the house through much of the week (reliable WiFi is extremely important for me). Outside of work I enjoy writing, creating YouTube content, meditating, and playing/recording music. Outside of all those things, I also train powerlifting. All these pursuits tend to keep me busy by myself throughout the week.

I've lived on 3 continents (North America, Europe, South America) and I've visited another (Africa).

Non-smoker, no pets.

If you'd like a link to my website to learn more about me, just let me know and I'll be happy to send it over.

Reviews (5)
No rating We had the pleasure of having Colin house sit for us for 7 weeks this summer. From the first conversation we had with him on Zoom, we knew we would be leaving our home in very good hands. Colin is mature, dependable, trustworthy, and an articulate communicator. We don't have pets, so the main responsibility we were seeking from our house sitter was to maintain our outside landscaping and indoor house plants (primarily watering). Colin cared for them beautifully! The lawn, flowers, and plants ... MORE
LISA AND JUAN (Cary North Carolina, Jun 2020)
No rating Colin was a wonderful house-sitter for us when we were out of the country. He took excellent care of both the house and the cats, and left the place looking great. He was an excellent communicator - before, during, and after the house sit. He was very organized, with a list of questions to help him succeed. And he sent us a fantastic "post-sit" message about how the cats warmed up to him and interacted with him. I would not hesitate to recommend Colin for your house-sitting needs.
AMY ( Massachusetts, Dec 2019)
No rating Colin housesat for us for a month, and he couldn't have been better! He tended to the needs of our animals (rabbits, chickens, and a cat) with extreme care and attention, and also helped us with watering the garden and houseplants and treating our small swimming pool so it stayed fresh and clean. He is kind, gracious, and easy-going, and could not be more clean, quiet, and conscientious as a housesitter. He readily communicated with us about anything that came up, and was always quick to ... MORE
PHOEBE AND STEPHEN ( Massachusetts, Jul 2019)
No rating Colin was the perfect housesitter. Attentive, communicative and kind. Our dogs can be nervous with new people and he knew how to give them space until they warmed up, which they did quickly! Highly recommend.
KIVA ( New Hampshire, Apr 2019 - 2 weeks 3 days)
No rating Colin is a great house sitter. He took the initiative to arrive a few days early to assimilate in to the routine of the pet care. We had some meals together, which gave us the opportunity to get acquainted and discuss the house and community. We left for our trip knowing our home and pets were in good hands. And when we arrived home our pets were all smiling. Thanks Colin for the great job!
BILL AND DIANE (Wakefield Pennsylvania, Feb 2019 - 2 weeks 1day)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden & the potted plants are thriving when you return home. A house sitter will do this for you.

Feefo badge