House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US

Make contact - Join for free


Silver (12mths)

I will keep your home spotless, tend the garden and yard, take care of pets, collect the mail, arrange for repairs when necessary, and follow your instructions to the letter. I am a good communicator, reliable, trustworthy, experienced, and I can think on my feet. Maintaining your property--and your confidence that it's in good hands--is my priority.

House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Arizona: North Central, Northern, Phoenix & Central, Tuscon & Southern, California, Colorado: North & Denver, Pikes Peak, District of Columbia, Florida: Southeast, Georgia: Atlanta Metro, Guam, Hawaii, Illinois: Chicagoland, Maryland: Central, Massachusetts: Berkshires, Cape Cod, Eastern, Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket Island, New Jersey: Delaware River, Southern Shore, New Mexico: Central, North Central, New York: Adirondacks, Catskills, Finger Lakes, Hudson Valley, New York City/Long Island, North Carolina: Coast, Mountains, Oregon: Mt. Hood & The Gorge, Oregon Coast, Portland, Rhode Island, South Carolina: Historic Charleston, Low Country & Resort Islands, Myrtle Beach & The Grand Strand, Texas: Big Bend, Gulf Coast, Hill Country, Prairie and Lake, Utah: Northern, Southern, Virgin Islands, Virginia: Central, Eastern Shore, Northern, Shenandoah Valley, Tidewater, Washington: King Country, Rocky Mountain Gateway, The Coast, The Islands, Wine Country

Experienced and reliable

69, writer

In March 2021, I sold my house in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and I've been living in Brasil, Mexico, and places around the U.S. ever since. Over a period of fifteen years, I owned two different houses in Santa Fe, and the second house had a beautiful garden that I designed in its entirety. When it came to taking care of my houses, I fell somewhere on the obsessive-compulsive spectrum--everything had to be just-so and perfect. And I will take care of your home as if it were my own.

I am a writer, so I work from anywhere and everywhere. I have authored two books, several screenplays, short stories and poems. For forty years I worked with a major Texas museum producing video documentaries for their conservation department, and I am a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design. I've traveled extensively world-wide, and one of my books chronicles those experiences: "Travel for STOICs: Empowering the Solo Traveler Who Is Obsessive, Introverted, and Compulsive." Check it out on Amazon!

Reviews (1)
This was my first time to have a housesitter through and I have to say I was MORE than thrilled with Laurie. She arrived a day early, as our flights changed, to become acquainted with our pets and home, and left our house spotless upon our return, She was in constant contact with us about our pets and they were happier than they ever have been upon our return, having been able to stay at home vs. a daycare. I would trust Laurie with any housesitting needs you may have.
REBECCA ( Texas, Dec 2021 - 2 weeks 6 days)
House Security

Safe house!

A sitter in your house is the best form of security for your home while you're away. It's 100% free to place a job ad.

Feefo badge