Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

House Sitters America

House sitting & pet sitting exclusively for the US
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • California: Southern California (Los Angeles, San Diego), Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon: Central & Eastern (Baker, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco), Mt. Hood & The Gorge (Hood River, Multnomah), Portland (Washington, Yamhill), Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia

Caring for your pets and home

53, linguist & translator - public relations & hospitality professional

Hello everyone,
I am hoping that 2021 will allow me to resume my explorations. I hope to discover - or rediscover - some awesome cities and regions : New York, Washington DC, Santa Fe NM, New Orleans, the East Coast in general... I am mostly attracted to places with character, culture and history, but places of true, natural beauty are also a 'go'!
Also, short house-sits in my home state of Oregon are always welcome: Portland, eastern Oregon, the Columbia Gorge, etc., I love it all!
Taking care of a house, a yard, and the creatures within is quite natural to me. I am used to urban (I grew up in Brussels and Paris and go there every year) as well as more remote, rural environments like the place where I live in coastal Oregon when I am not travelling (5 park-like acres on a river).
Fresh and clean environments to live in are essential to me (no smoking of any kind!), and I enjoy cats and dogs immensely, which I have had all my adult life. I am used to larger, energetic breeds of dogs, and long daily walks are a usual part of my day.
I could be described as professional and reliable, but also easy going, mature and resourceful .
My mother tongue is French; I am bilingual in English and speak a decent amount of Spanish and Dutch.
I obtained a Master Gardener certification in Oregon in 2016, which means that I have a hands-on training in horticulture. So, your garden and your plants in general should be in good hands with me!
I can provide excellent personal and professional references if you'd like, and I invite you to read the endorsements on this page.
Please note:
1) I do not charge for house-sits but I much appreciate paid assignments too. Paid work has been scarce this past year and, while I am currently financially independent and sound, forging ahead and assuring a safe and stable future for myself are very important.
2) My husband, Bud (he is on one of my pictures, the one taken in Mexico), sometimes joins me. He retired at the end of January 2021, so he may join me for the entire stay. In which case, I'll first check that you are okay with it.
I look forward to hearing from you!

Reviews (4)
Marianne and her husband stayed at my place for five days while I was away without internet or phone. I came home to a house cleaner than I'd left it, and to a clean litter box for the cat. Marianne's communication before and after the sit was excellent. I highly recommend her to care for your home and your furry friends.
 
TEMIRA ( Oregon, Feb 2021 - 5 days)
No rating Marianne did a great job taking care of our two cats and apartment! They are typically very shy, but opened up to her right away. She sent us pictures of how they were doing, and left the apartment quite clean. She will do a great job taking care of your pets too!
ETHAN ( New Jersey, Aug 2019)
No rating We highly recommend Marianne. She took great care of our cat and our apartment during our 10 day vacation!
ELISE ( Oregon, Mar 2018 - 1 week 3 days)
No rating Marianne took excellent care of our pets and our home. She was very independent and took initiative in taking care of our cat, who was having medical issues. The house was in great shape when we returned home, and our pets seemed happy. We would highly recommend her for future house sits.
DAVID AND ROBIN ( Oregon, Jan 2018 - 2 weeks 5 days)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, individual, home-based care for your pets while you're away. It's 100% free to place an ad.

Feefo badge